How to spread my dataset under different categories

Hello, I'm still a novice to R. Can anyone help me figure out how to spread my dataset under different categories?
The following is the dataset description: items with item code are my broad categories, and others without code fall in the subcategories. I want to make my broad items together with codes in two separate columns, and associated subcategories (I mean items under the broad categories)in another column. (Like column#1 is "Item Code", column#2 is "Broad category", and column #3 is " Specific items")

Can anyone tell me how to do this? I'm trying to use spread( ) command, but I think it doesn't work, because in that way I will get a new table which is super "wide".

Thank you so much!

Hi @hellovivvvv, have you imported your dataset into R yet? Or is that something you need help with?

Hello! Thanks for your reply.
I haven't imported my dataset into R yet, I'm just thinking about my following steps and how to separate the original "Item" column into two. I had experience in doing spread() command, but in this case, it seems doesn't work. Do you know how to put all the "broad category" into one column, and the other items in another column? Just like this (I mean after I do some sorting work in R):

Thank you so much!

It can depend on what happens when you import the file since that may change what the table looks like once it's in R. Could you import it and paste what you get here?

Thanks for your patience. Here is what I got.

As I described, values with "item code" fall in "broad category", others are in the subcategories. So now, I wanna separate values in subcategories (that is, values with NA code) and make it into the third column. And I wish the final result could be like the form in my last reply.

Can I specify "broad categories" as a variable, and "subcategories" as another variable, and then, I might be able to spread the table? Not sure.

Could you give me some suggestions? Thanks a lot.