I need help installing a package "DESeq2" having BiocManager issues

Hi R community,

I am new to R and have been having issues installing the "DESeq2" package that I need to do a particular data transformation. I have tried many things and I would like help. I've tried posting in the BioConducter blogs but I am out of messages for the day. Essentially, I seem to be having problems with installing "GenomeInfoDbData" and get stuck at a non-zero exit status. I've been reading some of the posts here and from my understanding I should be able to install from a source that does not need compilation to get access to an older version of the package but it still reports a non-zero exit status. Can you please help me? I've been stuck on this problem for a long time. ):

The downloaded source packages are in
‘/private/var/folders/yq/0npyx_c53h11vckppmcv5vmc0000gn/T/Rtmpuvn0DW/downloaded_packages’
Warning messages:
1: In install.packages(...) :
installation of package ‘GenomeInfoDbData’ had non-zero exit status
2: In install.packages(...) :
installation of package ‘backports’ had non-zero exit status

First,

install.packages("backport")

You will be offered a choice to install v 1.1,10 from source. Choose Yes. If it fails, required operating system facilities are missing. Try again and choose No.

Following successful installation of backports

BiocManager::install("DESeq2")

will succeed under

sessionInfo()
#> R version 4.0.2 (2020-06-22)
#> Platform: x86_64-apple-darwin17.0 (64-bit)
#> Running under: macOS Catalina 10.15.6

Hi technocrat,

I appreciate your help! So, I tried doing those things and installed the backports. Should I update my OS to Catalina?

library(DESeq2)
Loading required package: GenomicRanges
Loading required package: GenomeInfoDb
Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘GenomeInfoDb’ in loadNamespace(i, c(lib.loc, .libPaths()), versionCheck = vI[[i]]):
there is no package called ‘GenomeInfoDbData’
Error: package ‘GenomeInfoDb’ could not be loaded