Import data set from CSV file

Hello all,
First message here. I'm a french student, and I'm working with Rstudio in an analytics class. We strated 2 weeks ago, but since then I can't make R work properly. My problem is so simple that it's almost stupid. When i try to import a CSV file that my teacher gave to the class, I get an error message.

https://imgur.com/a/JqVVbj4

Any help ?

One guess would be that it's an encoding problem with your file path.

Could you try reading a file from a location without the special c character (cedille?).

2 Likes

Another possible problem is the decimal point representation (typically "," in France) which could interfere with the processing of a comma delimited file.

Can you open the file in a simple text editor to see how the data is stored?

1 Like

The system won't let me save my file somewhere before "François", (C:) or Users are not available as saving spaces.
As for the comma problem, I don't know because in fact the csv file is simply an excel sheet, I don't have a problem opening it anywhere else.

don't know because in fact the csv file is simply an excel sheet

What is the file extension? .csv or .xlxs / .xls?

Also, can you send a screenshot of the folder where the file is located?

The file is actually saved on my desktop. I tried to download it many times in different places on my PC, to see if it was really a path problem, I always get the same error message.

Does this work

setwd("C:/Users/François/Desktop")
readr::read_csv("europeancities.csv")

Alternatively, if you shift + right click on the desktop > Open command window then enter

Rscript -e readr::read_csv("europeancities.csv")

I think that @pomchip might be onto something: