Issue with R-3.5.0 to install openssl package installation

In our SUSE Linux 11 system, there is a number of R version installed as module avil. Now i installed R-3.5.0 (with the _SL suffix) and update the R-studio server and configure R-studio to use R-3.5.0_SL as default.
Now when user/me try to install Several dependencies, it cannot be installed, for example, the package “openssl”. I get the following error (using the command line R or from R-Studio):

The major difference I found in R-3.5.0 with the existing version. It has new directory lib64. This directory contains R and pkgconfig. I am new in R environment. Is any of you could help me to do the process.

I tried several ways to install (manually download the package and use the local link, "R CMD INSTALL" is not working on our server, don't know as i am new here)

> install.packages('openssl')
---------------------------------------
 trying URL 'https://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/misc/cran/src/contrib/openssl_1.0.1.tar.gz'
Content type 'application/octet-stream' length 1194261 bytes (1.1 MB)
==================================================
downloaded 1.1 MB

* installing *source* package ‘openssl’ ...
** package ‘openssl’ successfully unpacked and MD5 sums checked
Using PKG_CFLAGS=
------------------------- ANTICONF ERROR ---------------------------
Configuration failed because openssl was not found. Try installing:
 * deb: libssl-dev (Debian, Ubuntu, etc)
 * rpm: openssl-devel (Fedora, CentOS, RHEL)
 * csw: libssl_dev (Solaris)
 * brew: openssl@1.1 (Mac OSX)
If openssl is already installed, check that 'pkg-config' is in your
PATH and PKG_CONFIG_PATH contains a openssl.pc file. If pkg-config
is unavailable you can set INCLUDE_DIR and LIB_DIR manually via:
R CMD INSTALL --configure-vars='INCLUDE_DIR=... LIB_DIR=...'
--------------------------------------------------------------------
ERROR: configuration failed for package ‘openssl’
* removing ‘/R/R-3.5.0_SL/lib64/R/library/openssl’