Issues installing R4.0

Been trying to update to R 4.0 but am stuck in a loop of doom. Hope someone can help me out..

I've cleared out the old version of R, upgraded and updated everything I can, but I still have this unresolved dependency..

The following packages have unmet dependencies.
 r-base : Depends: r-recommended (= 4.0.2-1.1804.0) but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

System: Host: vanagpau-730U3E-740U3E Kernel: 4.15.0-117-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.5.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.4 wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic

Were you following the instruction on CRAN? And did you remove manual or with

$ sudo apt-remove r-base`

Hi yes I did that. I deleted previous version of R and updated everything.

But just realised I have not added the entry to source.list - I don't know what this is and am a bit scared of changing it as I'm a linux noob.

As always, back up the existing file to a holding file and edit it to add the repo. It's something that will be needed from time to time. Is

$ sudo apt-remove r-base

how you removed the earlier installation?

I can't remember exactly ! but I did that and also used some code i pulled from a website which looked like it detected all things R and deleted them.. I think it used a xargs command?

Linux has package managers for a reason—dinking around with scripts that are imperfectly understood or guessing which files to manually delete are harmful to the system's health. A working R installation has more interlocking parts than any user should be attempting to adjust. That's what makefiles are for. My current R/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-library/ has 7442 directories containing 42688 files.

Try again with

$ sudo apt-get remove r-base-core

According to Dirk Eddelbuettel, a trusted authority, I was wrong about remove r-base, that's just a wrapper.