Issues with CSV uploads and character encoding in Shiny

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Shiny and having some problematic behavior with my first app. Thank you in advance for your help.

I've created a simple app that allows me to call a complex scoring algorithm for a standardized assessment of child data. My colleague created a package that processes the raw data and generates various composite scores. https://github.com/marcus-waldman/credi

Knowing that many non-R users are going to want to use this, I wanted to create a simple Shiny app that allows users to upload their data and download the processed results. Conceptually it does the following:

1. User inputs a CSV with raw scores
  2. subset CSV with only relevant variables so that it can be fed into the scoring package
  3. generate processed scores with scoring package
  4. merge the processed scores with the uploaded dataset
  5. provide a download link for the processed files

I've partially accomplished this here: https://credi.shinyapps.io/credi/ It works with many of my files, but I'm trouble with some (but not all) CSVs that I upload. Oddly, it works perfectly in my R Studio IDE, but once deployed is when I start to have issues.

I understand that the trouble I am having is due to character encodings in some of the csvs that I am uploading (it breaks if the csv has accented characters (e.g. á, é, Ó)). Originally I had simply:

rawdat <- read.csv(inFile$datapath, header = TRUE, sep = ",")

I have tried to fix this by adding encode = "UTF-8" but now I am getting an error

Warning: Error in gsub: input string 2 is invalid UTF-8

I assume this is related to the special characters that are not being understood when I define the encoding. Is there any workaround to this?

I can't post CSVs here, but if you want a reproducible example, I am happy to provide one.

Thanks again,

Jonathan