Knitr: could not find function %>% error

Hi !

I am relatively new to using R, and would like to knit my outputs from my RStudio markdown to a html/pdf.

I have installed and loaded all packages I am using in the console (this includes Knitr, dplyr and magrittr), but when I press the "knit" buttom on the top left of the screen, I get the following error:

Calls: ... handle -> withCallingHandlers -> withVisible -> eval -> eval
In addition: Warning message:
In knitr::knit(knit_input, knit_output, envir = envir, quiet = quiet, :
The file "Updated-survival-analysis-from-paul.rmd" should be encoded in UTF-8. Now I will try to read it with the system native encoding (which may not be correct). We will only support UTF-8 in the near future. Please see https://yihui.name/en/2018/11/biggest-regret-knitr/ for more info.

Execution halted

I have tried re-installing dplyr and magrittr, but, it still does not seem to work. I also do beleieve my file is encoded in UTF-8, and have not always gotten that error. Does anyone have any ideas, as to how to fix this?

-Ash

1 Like

Are you also loading your packages within the R Markdown document?

Knitting happens in a fresh R session, so if you have not loaded your packages in a code chunk, you'll get those errors.

Usually, you'd load your packages in a code chunk at the beginning of your document, after the YAML header. Like so:

```{r load-packages, include=FALSE}
library(dplyr)
library(magrittr)
library(knitr)
```
7 Likes

No, I am not loading my packages in the RMarkdown document :slightly_frowning_face:

Try adding the code in my reply and then knit the document. Do you get any other errors?

Hello, I have the same problem. I have loaded all the necessary libraries in a code chunk in my rmd file but this error still pops up. Any idea why this happened and how I can fix this?

Thank you in advance.

Hi, welcome!