.libPaths() raising error because Documents folder could not be found by R

Hello,

I just installed R (4.1.2) and R studio as a complete beginner in Windows 10, and I am trying to install a package called "vcfR".
I wanted to create a specific environment to separate core packages from the ones added by me, creating a folder on this location "C:\Users\Iñigo\R_lib".
However, RStudio raises this error whenever I call .libPaths() to check the default library path. I did not add any locations with c() yet:

> .libPaths()
[1] "C:/Program Files/R/R-4.1.2/library"
Warning message:
In normalizePath(path.expand(path), winslash, mustWork) :
  path[1]="C:/Users/Iñigo/Documents": El sistema no puede encontrar la ruta especificada

Where "El sistema no puede encontrar la ruta especificada" translates to a typical powershell error saying "The system could not find the specified path".
In addition, when I try to install the package to the default location the process seems to start fine but ends
telling me that the package is stored in the Temp folder of my system.

I suspect that the "ñ" character in my user might be a problem. Still, I cannot find any solution to these issues anywhere.

I would greatly appreciate it if someone helped me troubleshoot this.
Thank you,

Iñigo

1 Like

Yes, R has problems with non-ASCII characters in the package library path on Windows, I think this is going to change on the next release with utf8 support on Windows but currently you would need to remove any non-ASCII character from the path.

This doesn't mean that the installation has failed, it is only an informative message about the temporary location of the compiled binaries which are going to be automatically deleted later. Unless you get an actual error message, then most likely the installation process has been successful.

Hi Andrés,

Thank you for your quick reply, I appreciate it. As you said, the packages I needed were successfully installed. (I checked this with the require() function)