Ligatures in RStudio 1.1.364 preview

I'm trying out the new support for fonts with code ligatures in 1.1.364, and it looks great! Here's Fira Code:

It's a small change but really does make the code more readable. But (sadface) it seems that Fira Code doesn't support some R tokens that really ought to be ligatured, like %>% pipes and %in% operators. Are there fonts that support these?

2 Likes

Do you have any examples of what those would look like? I know there's an open request re. the pipe operator in FiraCode, and I've been exploring a few others, but I'm not sure what to look out for. I think %in% is helpful to see, but that's just IMHO, and I don't know what it would look like!

Ah, someone has already requested it -- thanks for point me to that. As for what the ligature would look like, I'm no typeface designer but I'd like to emphasize the arrow > part and de-emphasize the ugly percent signs. I'm imagining a prominent right bracket > or arrowhead with small dots or bars, like />/ or •►• . Or maybe little bitty Magritte pipes?

3 Likes

Few more options using common mathematical signs

2 Likes

In all logic x %in% y could be

But purists might object...

2 Likes

Also
might be a good candidate for data.table assignment by reference := sign.

Screenshot with some more:

<-
[[ and ]]
%in%
%>%
::
:::

It would be great to have them in nice font.

5 Likes

In a similar vayne a function could be defined with ƒ(…)

1 Like

the ligature for %>% shown here seems problematic. that kind of arrow (\Rightarrow in LaTeX) has always meant "implies" to me, so I see that line as 1:10 implies mean. Something more like the %in% ligature would be more clear to me.

2 Likes

Hasklig is also a nice ligature font, btw - I prefer it over Fira Code, give it a try. It has the same problem, though - no ligatures for %>% et al