loop (calculate according to several factors of the data frame)?

Hello,
I'm new to Rstudio and I have a problem that I can't solve by looking at the forum :
I would like to make a loop in R, to be able to calculate the yield, according to several factors of my data frame (variety, years, seeding depth...). The loop I created works but the data that comes out of it is not interpretable (long list of data, we don't know what is what).

listyear<- unique(data$year)
print(listyear)
listtype<- unique(data$Type)
print(listtype)
listvariety<- unique(data$VarFH.PH)
print(listvariety
listseed<- unique(data$Appli1.2)
print(listseed)

for (yy in c(1:length(listyear))){
  for (xx in c(1:length(listvariety))) {
    for (zz in c(1:length(listseed))) {
      for(ww in c(1:length(listtype))) {
        mean_yeald_type1<-mean(data$yeald [which((data$Type==listtype[ww])&(data$VarFH.PH==listvariety[xx])&(data$Appli1.2==listseed[zz]))], na.rm=TRUE)  
        print(mean_yeald_type1)
      }
    }
  }
  tmp <- fp[which(data$year==listyear[yy]),]
}

Do you have any advice for me?

Thank you in advance for your help.
Louna

HI @louna123,

could you include a (subset) of your data data frame in a format that others can copy-paste into R Studio? See e.g. FAQ: How to do a minimal reproducible example ( reprex ) for beginners

In this way you will greatly increase your chances of getting a fast and meaningful response.

Once you do that seems like a much more simple solution is to use dplyr to group_by and then aggregate, some examples can be found here https://rdrr.io/cran/dplyr/man/group_by.html

It looks like you want the mean of a variable for each level of year, type, variety, and seed. I would suggest this:

library(tidyverse)
meandata <- data %>%
  group_by(year, Type, VarFH.PH, Appli1.2) %>%
  summarise(mean_yeald_type1=mean(yeald, na.rm=TRUE))