Need help with making a function

Hey everyone I'm new to Rstudio and I'm taking a class and is stuck trying to make a function that inputs a vector then I have to run some standard test like mean, median, mode and having that come out with a vector as well with the name so mean= 5 and etc.

part2_function <- function(x){
length(x)
sum( is.na(x))
mean(x)
median(x)
max(x)
min(x)
sd(x)
return(x)
}
this is what I have kinda put together so far but super lost still.
Thanks!

A function can only return one thing but that thing can have several components. Think about using a list to store each of your values. For example

MuFunc <- function(x) {
  list(Twice = x * 2, Squared = x^2)
}
2 Likes

I finally got values for calculations, would you know how I would put all those values into one vector?

"mean=3, median=5 and so on?

If all of the calculations produce numbers, you can put them in a vector using the c() function. Just use c() instead of list() in my example above.

1 Like

how can I put words in front of the values. My vector needs to output that the mean=5. I've tried to put "mean=" inside that vector and keep getting errors. Do I need to write it as a different line or inside the vector

Please show your actual code. Also, note the difference between the two vectors in the code below. The first is a named vector of numbers and the second is a vector of characters. I suspect you want a named vector.

VEC <- c(mean = 5, median = 4.5, mode = 6)
VEC
#>   mean median   mode 
#>    5.0    4.5    6.0

VEC2 <- c("mean = 5", "median = 4.5", "mode = 6")
VEC2
#> [1] "mean = 5"     "median = 4.5" "mode = 6"

Created on 2019-10-01 by the reprex package (v0.2.1)

1 Like

part2_function <- function(x){
<- ifelse(is.numeric(x),x,"Error: must be a numeric vector") #to make sure a string gives an error. not sure what to put in front of the vector
c (length(x), sum( is.na(x)), mean(x), median(x), max(x), min(x), sd(x))

}
currently my code.

I need my results to come out like this