Non-numeric argument to binary operator - Markdown

Hello everyone,

I'm new to r and taking a class where I'm using an r-markdown script. I keep getting the "non-numeric argument to binary operator" error when I try to knit my document into a pdf, which I'm not sure what is going wrong. The actual markdown was performed by my teacher, and my script is running fine on a separate console.

This is the script so far (including the assignment instructions from my teacher):

---
title: "Trends Lab (Weeks 3-4)"
author: "Student Name"
date: "04/26/2022"
output: pdf_document
---

```{r setup, include=FALSE}
knitr::opts_chunk$set(echo = TRUE)
```

# Part 1: Background on r, $\lambda$, and trends 
A population trend is a measure of how a population or population index is changing through time. Trends are often expressed as "percent per year", which is a discrete rate. Like a multiplication rate applied to the population each year, these are trends where the actual number of individuals gained or lost each year can be expressed as:

N(t + 1) = $\lambda$*N(t)

N is population size. t is time. Read this equation as: population size at time t+1 is equal to $\lambda$ times the population size in year t. For most vertebrates, t is one year. $\lambda$ is equal to next year's population (N(t+1)) divided by this year's population (N(t)). $\lambda$ can be determined in a number of ways; in these simple models, an average $\lambda$ is determined as an average of N(t+1)/N(t) or by a smooth line that is "fit" to the data.

$\lambda$ is a population multiplication rate. When $\lambda$ = 1, the population is stable and does not change from year to year. When $\lambda$ >1, the population is increasing, and when $\lambda$ < 1 the population is decreasing.  For example, if $\lambda$ = 1.15, the population is increasing at a rate of 15% per year, and if $\lambda$ = 0.85, the population is decreasing at a rate of 15% per year.