Parsing XML/HTML with R. Getting Errors

Hello, I'm still new to R and I'm not good with XML or html. So I'm trying to receive information from the web using API and turn it into a dataframe. All the information I got back is in XML, with most the API calls, it worked well with the code below:

library(httr)
library(xml2)
library(dplyr)

#Reformat the function source to make it more readable
#Translate that to a plain POST call without namespacing
getInfoInJsonCont <- POST(url = "https://app.bluefolder.com/api/2.0/contracts/list.aspx", 
                      body = "<request><contractList><listType></listType></contractList></request>",
                      authenticate(user = "TOKEN", password = "x"), 
                      verbose(), 
                      add_headers(), 
                      encode = "json")

#Creating data frame object
ContractDF = data.frame(matrix(nrow = 0, ncol=2))
colnames(ContractDF) = c("contractId", "contractName")

#Parsing and getting the information for a specific node
ContractXML =  content(getInfoInJsonCont) %>% xml2::xml_find_all("//contract")
for(contract in ContractXML){
  contractId = contract %>% xml_find_all(".//contractId") %>% xml_text()
  contractName =  contract %>% xml_find_all(".//contractName") %>% xml_text()

#Using rbind to create the columns for the data frame
  ContractDF = rbind(ContractDF,data.frame(contractId=contractId,
                                             contractName=contractName
 ))

}

There's one API that's giving me errors because when it tries to parse the data, there's invalid characters. After looking through the file, it has these characters in it:

1. "
  2. '
  3. &#x0D
  4. &#x20
  5. &#x0A
  6. &#x0B
  7. &#x1C

Here's the steps I tried to do but I'm stuck:

library(httr)
library(xml2)
library(dplyr)
library(XML)
library(plyr)

getInfoInJsonSR <- POST(url = "https://app.bluefolder.com/api/2.0/serviceRequests/list.aspx", 
     body = "<request><listType>full</listType></request>",