Philosophy/Best Practice/Future of Connect Tag "inheritance"

Hi folks,

I just set up a quickstart to experiment with how tagging works so I can be well-informed when I sit down with stakeholder to discuss tags, and I've noticed that duplicate tags are allowed in different "branches" but that they don't/can't "multiply inherit". I can mostly appreciate this design choice, since if you want to have tags like "Car -> blue" and "Political leaning -> blue" you probably just want the tag to say blue, and not be shared (and it's obviously de-duped under the hood), but in my situation, if we have, for instance, a protein that might be informative in more than one disease, it would be nice to have "disease1 -> proteinA" and "disease2 -> proteinA" where proteinA tags the same apps.

I am not a tagging expert, and I will find a solution that works for us, but I was just wondering if a) this is informed by a best practice you could point me to, and b) whether this is something that might change in the future.

thanks!

Hey @mfoos ! Thanks for your post! We have circulated your post internally and certainly appreciate the use case! Is there a bit more clarity that you could provide by way of example?

The way I like to think about tag hierarchies is as sets of attributes. In your example, the "protein" is an attribute and the "disease" is an attribute. The hierarchy is for the attributes (i.e. diseases might be categorized, or proteins might be categorized, but proteins are not really categorized by disease), and not for the apps (i.e. not like a folder structure). But I am far from a tagging expert either :slight_smile:

For instance, the approach that I think that would work best today (given your situation) is two tag hierarchies:

Protien

• Protein A
  • Protein B
  • Protein C

Disease

• Disease 1
  • Disease 2
  • Disease 3