Please help! New user can't set working drive on Windows

I am brand new to RStudio. My course provides instructions for setting up the working drive in the console of RStudio:

setwd("C:/Users/Default.DESKTOP-L72OCEF/Document/STAM200")

I get the error message:

Error in setwd("/Users/Default.DESKTOP-L72OCEF/Document/STAM200") :
cannot change working directory

When I type getwd, I get the following back:

getwd
function ()
.Internal(getwd())
<bytecode: 0x00000137266c3738>
<environment: namespace:base>

I'm working on windows 10. I'd really appreciate some help getting this working drive set up so that I can work through my course assignment this weekend!

Thanks!

I think the problem is that you refer to a directory named Document and it is probably called Documents, with a final "s".

The proper syntax is

getwd()

In R getwd() is a function. The command getwd says : Print out the code for the function. In order for a function to "work" it needs the (). try set.seed versus set.seed(123). BTW, set.seed() gives an error.

1 Like

sorry, that was a typo. I tried it a bunch of times with the directory named "documents", not "document as I typed. I fixed the typo, and it still doesn't work

Thanks. Are you able to dumb it down even more? I'm a real beginner here, and not that tech savvy!

should be getwd(), although that may not be that is all that is in the way.

That was about as dumb as it gets :grinning:

This may help.

Assuming a working version of R and RStudio if you issue the command

getwd()

it should tell you what directory (aka "folder") that you are currently using.

For example if I do

getwd()

it comes back and tells me that I am using the directory (folder)

/home/john/RJunk

This is in Linux so the path_name will not be the same as on a Windows machine. It's been a long time since I used Windows but you likely would get something along the lines of

C:/megan/my_holidays/tenerife