Pointing Shiny Server at MRO R on an Azure data science installation

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner on Linux, and am trying to get a working instance of Shiny Server up on an Azure Ubuntu 16.04 Data Science instance.

Steps so far:

We have MRO installed by default, and it appears to be in THIS location: /opt/microsoft/ropen/3.4.3/lib64/R

Following the instructions here: https://www.rstudio.com/products/shiny/download-server/ I have

1. NOT installed r-base because I was conscious that they might not play nicely together

sudo su - -c "R -e \"install.packages('shiny', repos='https://cran.rstudio.com/')\"" sudo apt-get install gdebi-core
wget https://download3.rstudio.org/ubuntu-14.04/x86_64/shiny-server-1.5.9.923-amd64.deb sudo gdebi shiny-server-1.5.9.923-amd64.deb

I have then installed rmarkdown:

$ sudo su - -c "R -e "install.packages('rmarkdown', repos='http://cran.rstudio.com/')""

I have then edited the configuration file to a different port, and opened this port on the VM firewall.

I can connect a browser to the Shiny IP:Port, and I get the "It's Alive" Welcome screen. The sliders and drop downs work in the example, however I get not chart or documents appearing in these windows. I believe that Shiny Server cannot 'see' the Microsoft version of R, but I just cannot work out how or where to edit a configuration file to point at the MRO folder. I have tried to read through the instruction manual, but there appears to be no reference on how SPECIFICALLY to change the file location of R. At least, none that I can understand with my current Linux proficiency.

Could anyone please post step by step instructions on how to repoint Shiny to MRO ? I'm working with administrator access. In case it is of relevance, I have an R Server instance running on a separate port - but this was preconfigured in the instance.

Many thanks in advance

Hi! Can you explain a bit more about what you're seeing on the welcome screen? I'm confused by: