Problem installing packages on r 3.5.1 running on mac (OS X 10.13 Sierra)

Hi,

I'm new to R, because we're using it at Uni, and I'm having problems installing Rcdmr.

I've downloaded R 3.5.1. as well as XQuarts and the other tools CRAN told me to download, and I've even followed the step-by-step instructions (R Commander Installation) written by John Fox himself, but I'm getting error an error message I don't understand:

install.packages("Rcmdr")
--- Please select a CRAN mirror for use in this session ---
trying URL 'https://cloud.r-project.org/bin/macosx/el-capitan/contrib/3.5/Rcmdr_2.5-1.tgz'
Content type 'application/x-gzip' length 5014770 bytes (4.8 MB)
==================================================
downloaded 4.8 MB

The downloaded binary packages are in
/var/folders/5t/qh9jqrv550l_yjc6ly3l6d2c0000gn/T//RtmpaCDkGF/downloaded_packages

What does it mean?

I also tried installing the library after the step described above, but then I'm getting this message instead:

library(Rcmdr)
Loading required package: splines
Loading required package: RcmdrMisc
Loading required package: car
Loading required package: carData
Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘car’ in loadNamespace(j <- i[[1L]], c(lib.loc, .libPaths()), versionCheck = vI[[j]]):
there is no package called ‘data.table’
Error: package ‘car’ could not be loaded

As far as I can surmise, in the first step, Rcmdr is put in some weird folder which then creates the error "package 'car' could not be loaded".

All of this is essentially me saying "HELP". And before you suggest I go to my professor, I've already done that, and he couldn't help me either. Just made comments about how Mac computers are stupid, essentially. So I need your help, Internet!

Sincerely,
A complete R newbie who just wants to use it for his statistics class

First thing first, you'll need to install this package (with install.package("data.table") ).