RStudio desktop on a Chromebook without Crouton - using new Linux Beta option

Hey - just thought I would share my success with installing RStudio on a chromebook (Pixelbook to be exact). I'm a Physician/Engineer (Practicing research engineer and training Medical Geneticist) and have lurked on here a long time, but registered today to post this for others. I love this pixelbook - I've found workarounds for most things that had me using Windows devices in the past. For most big data/R/Rstudio work I can (and will) use cloud computing and my Pixelbook is great for remote desktop work like that. However...The ONLY downfall is my data science stuff can't be done on the chromebook locally - at least not easily. My wife also uses RStudio in grad school and was strongly discouraged by her Stats professor from using a chromebook for RStudio. She ultimately gave up on the chromebook because she doesn't like to be dependent on a remote desktop to run her scripts/code (all it takes is one slow connection to make remote work tedious).

Anyway - There are a couple previous threads discussing side-loading/installing crouton etc to get linux to run Rstudio on chromebook hardware. My wife was not comfortable with taking our nice laptop computer and doing that. However, I was finally convinced yesterday to try to install it via the new (Beta) Linux feature directly "baked into" the latest Chromebook OS in a container.

It is probably super simple for hardcore Linux folks out there, but I thought I'd do other people a "solid" and post this. For data scientists / students like my wife who have a nice pixelbook but can't run R - they should try this! Pretty fast and simple!

So here's my Halloween good deed for the day:

1. First, you need to activate the Linux option. Follow the instructions as follows from Google:
    https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/9145439

2. Then you need to open up the new terminal with the icon and proceed with the following code: