RStudio will not import categorical variables from .dta files

I need help! I'm new to R and I'm going to go crazy.
I have a stata dataset (.dta file), and it has both numerical and categorical variables. But when I import it into R, it replaces everything that is not numbers (eg. "Male/Female", "Low/High") with numbers. I've been searching for hours and do not understand what the problem is.

Any tip would be greatly appreciated.

how are you importing it ? i.e. what code do you use ?

Thank you for responding! So I went to RStudio, clicked on "import from stata" and found the file (I did nothing else). This is the code it's used:

library(haven)
X1999class621 <- read_dta("~/Downloads/R:Stata practice/STATA Lab-20201222-3/1999class621.dta")
View(X1999class621)

I don't have your data to consider if there is anything unusual about it.
Lets first validate that a dta file can be read and include categorical data, there is an example included that you can use to test.

library(haven)
path <- system.file("examples", "iris.dta", package = "haven")
read_dta(path)

does this result in a frame containing a categorical species column for you ?

Yes! It does say the names of the species in the "species" column.
I also somehow found that R has taken the labels of the categorical data I had in stata, and converted them to integers, while having them all as "dbl+lbl" next to each data in my categorical variables. Does that make sense?
I just want whatever's written as "dbl+lbl"s to be in the dataframe cells itself.

I think I figured what to do

library(haven)
library(tidyverse)

print("our beginning data in R")
(our_own_test <- tibble(xfac = factor(letters[1:3]),
                           ynum = 1:3))

tf <- tempfile()
print("write it out to a stata .dta file")
haven::write_dta(data = our_own_test,
                path = tf)

print("reading back in we get")
(read_test <- read_dta(tf))

print("recovering the info in the r friendly way")
(fixed_test <- mutate_if(read_test,