Scraping GoodReads with RSelenium

Hello,

I came across BuissonFlorent's scripts for scraping Goodreads and text mining (https://github.com/BuissonFlorent/GoodReads_TextMining/blob/master/GR_Webscraping.R). I wanted to run his script for scraping Goodreads, so I downloaded the ZIP-file and opened the script with RStudio. When I ran the script, I received following error message: write.csv(global.df, output.filename) Error in is.data.frame(x) : object 'global.df' not found. However, I looked at the script and do not understand why this error occurs.
Could someone help me to solve this problem? It's the script named "GR_Webscraping.R". Thank you in advance!

Hi,

Welcome to the RStudio community!

I have taken a look at the script, and it seems it uses some outdated code. I have not used this before, so I'm not an expert, but here is a version I was able to get to work on my PC

library(data.table)   # Required for rbindlist
library(dplyr)        # Required to use the pipes %>% and some table manipulation commands
library(magrittr)     # Required to use the pipes %>%
library(rvest)        # Required for read_html
library(RSelenium)    # Required for webscraping with javascript

url <- "https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18619684-the-time-traveler-s-wife#other_reviews"
book.title <- "The time traveler's wife"
output.filename <- "GR_TimeTravelersWife.csv"

rD <- rsDriver(chromever = "79.0.3945.36")
remDr <- rD[["client"]]
remDr$navigate(url)

global.df <- data.frame(book = character(),
                        reviewer = character(),
                        rating = character(),
                        review = character(), 
                        stringsAsFactors = F)

# Main loop going through the website pages
for(t in 1:98){

#Extracting the reviews from the page
  reviews <- remDr$findElements("css selector", "#bookReviews .stacked")
  reviews.html <- lapply(reviews, function(x){x$getElementAttribute("outerHTML")[[1]]})