SELinux errors with RStudio Server

Trying to log in at localhost:8787 in a browser fails, with RStudio Server running on Fedora 30 with SELinux in enforcing mode, starting with the following alert:

AVC avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=32444 comm="rserver" scontext=system_u:system_r:init_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:init_t:s0 tclass=process permissive=0

Setting SELinux to permissive mode allows logging in to succeed, but sets of a long chain of alerts:

I'm no expert on SELinux but I'm guessing a policy is needed for RStudio Server?

Is anyone running it successfully with SELinux enabled?

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 21 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.

Woops! Totally missed this one! There are some meanderings here: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/56711147/how-to-run-rstudio-server-with-selinux-enabled

Also, I thought I remember running into some SELinux problems when I upgraded RStudio Server relatively recently (in the last year). Which version are you using? I thought some of the newer 1.2 builds had a fix for this, but I could be mistaken! It's definitely something we would be interesting to hear more on if you continue to have trouble!

The partial solution is to fix the selinux context as I noted on stackoverflow and github. But the real solution needs to be a selinux policy. Ideally that would be created with input from RStudio developers who understand its functionality.

Fedora acknowledged my github request for a targetted selinux policy, but given how niche RStudio Server is, I think it needs to be driven by its users' and developers' initiative for any real chance of being implemented.