Shiny App reads .xlsx but won't write files or run external R scripts located in same folder

Hi all,

I'd like to start by saying that I am only a novice programmer, if something I say is not clear or lacking important information, please let me know and I'll happily update my post or add that information.

I've created a Shiny app for my work. I'll describe it below, but I think that the nature of my problem unfortunately makes it difficult to create a reproducible example, I'm hoping that my description of the issue will be enough to help solve it. Right now, everything I mention is located on a Dropbox folder.

The app is suppose to do the following:

1. Read a .xlsx file that is located in the same folder as the app
  2. Render one sheet from the .xlsx file into a table in the app and allow the user to modify the table
  3. Write the user-updated data from the table in the shiny app to an "intermediate" storage location (also .xlsx and located in same folder as the app)
  4. Run an external R script (also currently located in the same folder as the app) that processes the data in the "intermediate" .xlsx and sends it back to the original .xlsx file.

Locally, this works fine. However, the deployed version of the app does not work properly. The deployed app performs tasks 1 and 2 fine. It reads the .xlsx and allows the user to modify the data in the app. However, when I press the button that is supposed to write the updated data to the intermediate file and subsequently run the R script that adds that file to the original .xlsx, nothing happens. I know that the app recognizes the "intermediate" file and the external r script because if I introduce typos into the file names of either, the app breaks.