Shiny DT, once you edit can you save to the file you opened from

I am opening a csv file in a DataTable using the DT package, I can edit it in my main page, but cannot find a way to save that back to the original file. I can download that edited table but that is cumbersome to navigate back to the folder where my original file is located and overwrite it. I am using the downloadHandler to output the file, is there something similar to save the file?

Is it possible to open a file, edit in the DT output and just save that back to the original file? I am confused if there is a problem with that due the web security and not explicitly being able to write a file without input from the user. Trying to understand if I am just not able to figure out the code or if it is due to security constraint.

Thanks

Hi,

I am not a web developer, but I believe it is pretty much the default of web browser to not allow web pages to write to disk without user action....

That said, and on a very selfish note (sorry about that), I was wondering if you would mind sharing how you manage to feed into an editable DT table data coming from an uploaded file. Do you implement server-side or client-side editing? I am trying to implement server-side editing based upon a data.frame that is contained in a reactive object, but I am stuck with the inability to set a reactiveValues content using a reactive object (see this other thread).

Thanks