SQLite data types into R

I'm just starting to work with an SQLite database in R, using RSQLite and dplyr/dbplyr.

I'm looking for an overview or explanation of how SQLite data types are, or are not, related to data types in R. For example, if I have an SQLite database with a table that contains INTEGER and TEXT columns, when I read that table into R (e.g. using dbReadTable, will the data types translate such that I now have an R data frame with integer and character columns, respectively? Will SQLite NULL values become NA's in R? Is there any equivalent to R's "factor" data type in SQLite?

These are the types of questions I'm interested in, but really I just feel like I need to get a broad understanding/overview of how the SQLite/R transition will work. I apologize if some of these questions seem really basic! I have pretty extensive experience in R, but I'm very new to databases and to SQLite in particular, so if any of those questions don't make sense, it's probably because I'm misunderstanding something on the database side of things.

Thank you!

Hi,

I have been using SQLite databases in R for a long time and really like it. The basic data types according to the website are

• NULL . The value is a NULL value.
  • INTEGER . The value is a signed integer, stored in 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, or 8 bytes depending on the magnitude of the value.
  • REAL . The value is a floating point value, stored as an 8-byte IEEE floating point number.
  • TEXT . The value is a text string, stored using the database encoding (UTF-8, UTF-16BE or UTF-16LE).
  • BLOB . The value is a blob of data, stored exactly as it was input.

You set the correct data-type for a column when you create the table in the database, and R will read it accordingly.

NULL is used in the database for missing values, and R should translate them to NA. In R, the NULL value is not possible in a data frame and will always be NA.