Table Creation (Newbie)

Hello,

i am just getting into R and am having a hard time getting started. Currently I am trying to get my Data into a specific graph but i don't really know how to do it.
This is an Example Table similar to that in R just much smaller:

R

What I want is:

1. A graph that shows me the average of Cat B
  2. A graph that shows me the average of Cat B but only from "A" in Cat A
  3. A graph that shows me the average of Cat B but only from "B" in Cat A

I have tried working with plots and barplots in all kind of forms and the summary function. But to be honest I have no idea what i am doing and I am getting some usefull graphs but not the ones i want. I can't seem to get an average. How does that work?

really hoping somebody can help a newcomer out :slight_smile:
Thanks.

Good luck diving in - if you are new to coding it can definitely be confusing at first.
I'd recommend taking a look at the Software Carpentry R tutorials - taking some time to work through some examples will help you feel a bit more confident :slight_smile: : Programming with R

To make a plot of the average of Cat B this sounds like it will be a single point (e.g. mean of all the values in rows 2 to 9). Is that what you are trying to do?

Cheers

Hi :wave: and welcome to RStudio Community!

Like all programming languages, it takes some time to get up and running in R. If you're coming to R from another programming language there can also be a bit of a learning curve because things are a little different here.

You can get your data into a data.frame named df with this:

df <- data.frame(
  CatA = c("A", "A", "A", "A", "B", "B", "B", "B"),
  CatB = c(50, 100, 101, 888, 444, 333, 222, 111),
  CatC = c(999, 454, 5, 214, 56, 24, 12, 45)
)