Total Beginner stuck on installing tidyverse (error code +++)

Hello friends! I'm a total R beginner and learning to analyze data from clinical trials. I've fallen at the first hurdle: trying to install tidyverse. I can't seem to interpret the error code and figure out what I'm doing wrong. Any guidance much appreciated:

> install.packages("tidyverse")
trying URL 'https://cran.rstudio.com/bin/macosx/contrib/4.0/tidyverse_1.3.0.tgz'
Content type 'application/x-gzip' length 433049 bytes (422 KB)
==================================================
downloaded 422 KB

The downloaded binary packages are in
	/var/folders/gh/c2_0_qzs7_78hwwny61z9z880000gn/T//RtmpNudTjO/downloaded_packages
> library(tidyverse)
Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘tidyverse’ in dyn.load(file, DLLpath = DLLpath, ...):
 unable to load shared object '/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/4.0/Resources/library/Rcpp/libs/Rcpp.so':
  dlopen(/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/4.0/Resources/library/Rcpp/libs/Rcpp.so, 6): Symbol not found: _EXTPTR_PTR
  Referenced from: /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/4.0/Resources/library/Rcpp/libs/Rcpp.so
  Expected in: /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Resources/lib/libR.dylib
 in /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/4.0/Resources/library/Rcpp/libs/Rcpp.so
In addition: Warning message:
package ‘tidyverse’ was built under R version 4.0.2 
> remove.packages("tidyverse")
Removing package from ‘/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/4.0/Resources/library’
(as ‘lib’ is unspecified)
> library(tidyverse)
Error in library(tidyverse) : there is no package called ‘tidyverse’
> install.packages("tidyverse"
+                 )
trying URL 'https://cran.rstudio.com/bin/macosx/contrib/4.0/tidyverse_1.3.0.tgz'
Content type 'application/x-gzip' length 433049 bytes (422 KB)
==================================================
downloaded 422 KB

The downloaded binary packages are in