What's a fast and easy to implement method for setup during a workshop for beginners (no internet)

I'm planning a beginner's workshop for R and tidyverse as part of a scientific meeting in West Africa. We'll present our results and then have a workshop to show people how to reproduce the results as a way of introducing R. Here's the catch:

1. I cannot send instructions ahead of time and expect people to come ready for the workshop.
  2. I cannot rely on any internet connection during the workshop to download R, RStudio, or packages.

I'm thinking that I can bring participants a USB with the installers for R, RStudio, and package source files. Here are my questions:

1. Can anyone point me to good resources for this type of thing so I don't reinvent the wheel for explaining to complete novices how to install the software and packages from source?

2. If I want to have people install packages from source, do I need to include all of the dependencies as source files too (and dependencies of dependencies...)? Or are dependencies bundled into the main package source files? (remember, no internet connection to download dependencies on the fly).

3 Likes

Yes, you have to provide the full dependency tree.

This is an interesting challenge and I've never done what you are proposing. But I salute your efforts!

Do you know what OS everyone will be running? This is a more tractable task if everyone will be on the same OS.

This article is about running RStudio from a USB: https://support.rstudio.com/hc/en-us/articles/200534467-Creating-a-Portable-Version-of-RStudio-for-a-USB-Drive

If it was possible to load both R & RStudio in a portable USB stick, you could install everything that's needed and then clone the USB stick. Just give all participants a cheap USB with everything ready to go.

I have no idea if this is feasible, just brain storming here...

aaaand R for Windows FAQ to the rescue: