what's the meaning of forming a table and forming a value?

The 1st code can give me a Data, while the 2nd code can give me a Value.

post.treat.mean   <- df %>% filter(post==1, treatment==1) %>%
  summarize(mean=mean(daily_kwh))

sd_tr <- sd(df$daily_kwh[df$post==1&df$treatment==1], na.rm = T)
```r

Why there is a difference?

Also, I'm a novice in r. Can anyone tell me what's the meaning of %>%? 
3rd question: ``` r and ```. What's the meaning of ``` r? Can I change it to ``` other letter?
4th question: after run nrow function, I can see the outcome in Values. It's a number 105246L. What does L mean?

It is actually a "data frame" and it is rectangular data (with columns and rows) whereas the other is a single scalar value.

This works for delimiting code chunks on markdown files, the r part is for specifying what coding language you are using, it could also be ```python for example.

The L part is for denoting that it is an "integer" value.

1 Like

Can you tell me what the meaning of %>%? I see a lot of commands including it.

Also, I can understand data frame and single scalar value. But what specific contents in the commands above specify the type?

This is called the "pipe" operator, it comes from the magrittr package (but the operator is also imported by the dplyr package), and its function is to pass the object on the left side as the first argument for the function on the right side, making command concatenation easier, for example, this two are equivalent.

df %>% filter(post==1, treatment==1) %>%

# This is the equivalent with regular syntax
summarize(fiter(df, post==1, treatment==1), mean=mean(daily_kwh))

I don't understand this question, can you elaborate on this?

1 Like

The two codes give one dataset, and the other scalar value. How can I see which one is data set and which one is the scalar?

Sorry, I think I still can't understand what you mean.
If you want to know the class of any object you can use the class() function e.g.

class(iris)