workflow and null model: response object not found

I'm new to workflows (and tidymodels in general), so hopefully the fix is obvious. I'm trying out the null_model interface on the Titanic dataset, adapting this section in the tidymodels docs:

reprex

Preamble:

library(tidyverse)
library(tidymodels)

set.seed(10191)

Load and split:

# train.csv can be found here: https://www.kaggle.com/c/titanic/data
df <- read_csv("train.csv")

split <- initial_split(df, prop=0.8, strata=Survived)
df_train = training(split)
df_test = testing(split)

Convert response variable to a factor:

null_rec <- recipe(Survived ~ ., data=df_train) %>% 
  step_mutate(Survived=factor(as.logical(Survived)))

Create null model:

null_mod <- null_model(mode="classification") %>% 
  set_engine("parsnip")

Combine recipe and model into a workflow:

null_wflow <- workflow() %>% 
  add_recipe(null_rec) %>%
  add_model(null_mod)

"Fit" the model:

null_fit <- null_wflow %>% 
  fit(data=df_train)

Try to make a prediction:

null_pred <- null_fit %>% 
  predict(df_test, type="prob") %>%
  bind_cols(df_test %>% select(Survived))

# Error in factor(as.logical(Survived)) : object 'Survived' not found

I see this error if I replicate the above steps with a logistic regression model as well.

system/package info

• Windows 10
  • R: 4.0.0
  • RStudio: 1.2.5042
  • parsnip: 0.1.1
  • recipes: 0.1.12
  • tidymodels: 0.1.0
  • workflows: 0.1.1

Thanks!

I havent used tidymodels myself, but it would make sense to me to prepare the variables on df_train and df_test in the same way. step_mutate(Survived=factor(as.logical(Survived))) is done for df_train only, perhaps do it earlier in your flow so that the mutation happens before the data is split ?

No, as I understand it, when you fit the workflow with a recipe and a model, calling predict with the workflow and a new dataset should apply any transformations specified in the recipe to the new data. At least, that's what the next section in the tutorial suggests.