write a function that return frequency of integers that have last integer of j in integers 1 to n

I want to write a function called beta, such that beta(j)n will give the number of integers that have the last digit j, where j is an integer from 1-9, from integers 1 to n. e.g. beta(2)4=1, beta(1)10=2
Help me pls, I am struggling as I have no prior knowledge of r.

That can be an advantage. Every R problem can be thought of with advantage as the interaction of three objects— an existing object, x , a desired object,y , and a function, f, that will return a value of y given x as an argument. In other words, school algebra— f(x) = y. Any of the objects can be composites.

In this problem the information at hand consists of integers in two pieces: j is a single integer and n is a sequence of integers; taken together they are the x of the equation. y is the length of a vector of the integers in n that satisfy the condition that the last digit is the same as j.

Everything in R is an object; objects have properties depending on the class; some are containers for data and others perform functions. Functions are said to be first-class objects—that just means that they can be given as arguments to other functions, just like f(g(x) = y.

Let's tackle the simplest parts of the problem, first.

Our goal is a function f that will take j and n and do something. It will look like

the_function <- function(x,y) # do something next

Call it with j and n is just

the_function(2,1:10)

for example. The 2 represents the integer we want to match and 1:10 is the sequence of integers from one to 10. : expands to `c(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10).

Assume we have a vector as a result of the_function, and we want to know: How many?

length(my_vector)

That's simple enough.